Basics of the Vermont Law
Vermont legalized medical cannabis in 2004 through Senate Bill 76 and House Bill 645. The law allows qualifying patients to possess 2-ounces of marijuana and cultivate up to 9 plants (2 mature, 7 immature). Vermont residents who wish to obtain cannabis for medical treatment must submit a “Vermont Marijuana Registry Application” that includes a written Physician Statement from a physician, physician assistant, advanced practice registered nurse, or naturopathic physician verifying that he or she suffers from one or more qualifying medical conditions. Currently you cannot use medical marijuana ID cards from other states to obtain Vermont cannabis.
Anyone applying for a marijuana medical card must pay a nonrefundable $50 application fee. The annual renewal fee is $50. A parent or legal guardian must register to serve as the primary a caregiver for minors submitting applications for marijuana use in Vermont.
The law allows qualifying patients to possess 2-ounces of medical marijuana and cultivate up to 9 plants (2 mature, 7 immature).
Any patient who needs assistance with obtaining or administering cannabis can designate a caregiver. A patient must indicate whether he or she will utilize a caregiver at the time of application for an identification card. A parent or legal guardian must serve as the primary caregiver for a patient who is a minor. Caregivers pay a $50 application or renewal fee and can care for only 1 patient.
Physicians who are interested in making recommendations for marijuana treatment in Vermont must possess a current and unrestricted medical license in Vermont, New Hampshire, New York, or Massachusetts. They must also have a bonafide healthcare professional-patient relationship or a treatment or consulting relationship greater than 3 months in duration. Certifying healthcare providers must perform an in-person physical exam. There is no special training that is required before a physician can recommend marijuana for medical use.
Qualifying Medical Conditions
In-order-to qualify as a medical cannabis patient in the state of Vermont a resident must suffer from one or more qualifying medical conditions. These conditions include cancer, glaucoma, HIV/AIDS, multiple sclerosis, glaucoma, Crohn’s disease, seizures, Parkinson’s disease, Post traumatic stress disorder (PTSD), terminal illness, and severe or chronic pain. If you need more information about the Vermont medical marijuana law or licensing process visit the Vermont Marijuana Registry website.