Basics of the Rhode Island Law
Rhode Island passed a law to legalize cannabis for medical use in 2006 through Senate Bill 0710. The law allows qualifying patients to possess 2.5 ounces of marijuana and cultivate 12 plants. RI residents who wish to obtain cannabis must submit a “Rhode Island Medical Marijuana Program Application” that includes a Practitioner Form completed by a physician verifying that they suffer from one or more qualifying medical conditions. Currently you can use marijuana ID cards from other states to obtain cannabis in "Litlte Rhody".
Anyone applying for a marijuana medical card must pay a nonrefundable $50 application fee. The annual renewal fee is $50. Patients who receive Medicaid, Social Security Disability Income, Veteran’s Disability, or Supplemental Security Income pay a reduced initial and annual renewal fee of $25. A parent or legal guardian must register to serve as the primary a caregiver for minors submitting applications for marijuana use in RI.
Currently you can use medical marijuana ID cards from other states to obtain Rhode Island cannabis.
Any patient who needs assistance with obtaining or administering cannabis for medical use can designate a caregiver. A patient must indicate whether he or she will utilize a caregiver at the time of application for a medical cannabis identification card. A parent or legal guardian must serve as the primary caregiver for a patient who is a minor. Caregivers can assist up to 5 certified patients and must pay a $100 application and renewal fee. Patients who receive Medicaid, Social Security Disability Income, Veteran’s Disability, or Supplemental Security Income pay a reduced application and annual renewal fee of $25.
Physicians who are interested in making recommendations for marijuana treatments in RI must possess a current and unrestricted medical license in either Rhode Island, Massachusetts, or Connecticut. They must also have a bonafide practitioner-patient relationship. There is no special training that is required before a physician can recommend marijuana.
Qualifying Medical Conditions
In-order-to qualify as a cannabis patient in the state, a resident must suffer from one or more qualifying medical conditions. These conditions include cancer, glaucoma, hepatitis C, agitation of Alzheimer’s disease, HIV or AIDS, cachexia or severe weight loss, chronic pain, severe nausea, seizures, severe and persistent muscle spasms, and severe chronic pain. If you need more information about the state marijuana related law or licensing process visit the Rhode Island Medical Marijuana Program website.