• Basics of the Oregon Law

Oregon passed a law to legalize marijuana for medical use in 1998 through a Ballot Measure that received 55% of the vote. The law allows qualifying patients to possess 24-ounces of marijuana and cultivate up to 24 plants (6 mature, 18 immature). Oregon residents who wish to obtain medical cannabis must submit a “Oregon Medical Marijuana Program Application” that includes a written Attending Physician Statement from a physician verifying that he or she suffers from one or more qualifying medical conditions. Currently you cannot use marijuana medical ID cards from other states to obtain Oregon cannabis.

  • Patients

Anyone applying for a marijuana medical card must pay a nonrefundable $200 application fee. The annual renewal fee is $200 with reduced fees offered for patients receiving Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program (SNAP) or Social Security Income benefits, Oregon Health Plan cardholders, and individuals who served in the Armed Forces. A parent or legal guardian must register to serve as the primary a caregiver for minors submitting applications for marijuana medical use in Oregon.

Anyone applying for a medical marijuana card must pay a nonrefundable $200 application fee.

  • Caregivers

Any patient who needs assistance with obtaining or administering cannabis for medical use can designate a caregiver. A patient must indicate whether he or she will utilize a caregiver at the time of application for a cannabis medical identification card. A parent or legal guardian must serve as the primary caregiver for a patient who is a minor. There is no limit to the number of patients a caregiver can assist and there is no application or renewal fee.

  • Physicians

Physicians who are interested in making recommendations for marijuana treatment in Oregon must possess a current and unrestricted state medical license. The physician must also be responsible for the care for the care and treatment of the person diagnosed with a debilitating medical condition. The signed physician statement must be received within 90 days of the signature date. There is no special training that is required before a physician can recommend marijuana to his patients.

  • Qualifying Medical Conditions

In-order-to qualify as a cannabis patient in the state of Oregon a resident must suffer from one or more qualifying medical conditions. These conditions include cancer, glaucoma, HIV/AIDS, amyotrophic lateral sclerosis (ALS), glaucoma, spinal cord damage with severe spasticity, inflammatory bowel disease, Crohn’s disease, neuropathies, Huntington’s disease, sickle cell anemia, autism, seizures, Parkinson’s disease, Post traumatic stress disorder (PTSD), and severe or chronic pain. If you need more information about the law or licensing process visit the Oregon Medical Marijuana Program website.