Basics of the North Dakota Law
North Dakota passed a law to legalize medical cannabis in 2016 through Ballot Measure 5 that received 63% of the vote. The law allows qualifying patients to possess 3 ounces of marijuana. Patients are allowed to cultivate 8 cannabis plants if they live more than 40 miles away from a compassionate care center. North Dakota residents who wish to obtain cannabis for medical use will be able to apply once the rules are fully developed. Patients who eventually apply will require a Written Certification from any qualified physician or advanced practice registered nurse who is licensed in North Dakota verifying that he or she suffers from one or more qualifying medical conditions. It has yet to be determined if you can use marijuana medical ID cards from other states to obtain North Dakota cannabis.
Anyone applying for a marijuana medical card must pay a nonrefundable $50 application fee. A parent or legal guardian must register to serve as the primary a caregiver for minors submitting applications for marijuana treatment in North Dakota.
Patients are allowed to cultivate 8 cannabis plants if they live more than 40 miles away from a compassionate care center.
Any patient who needs assistance with obtaining or administering cannabis can designate a caregiver who must also apply. A patient must indicate whether he or she will utilize a caregiver at the time of application for a medical cannabis identification card. A parent or legal guardian must serve as the primary caregiver for a patient who is a minor. Caregivers pay a $50 application and annual renewal fee and can assist up to 5 certified patients.
Physicians who are interested in making recommendations for marijuana treatment in North Dakota must possess a current and unrestricted state medical license. They must also have a bonafide provider-patient relationship where the patient is under the healthcare provider’s continued care for the qualifying medical condition and not for the sole purpose of providing a certification for using marijuana as medicine. There is no special training that is required before a physician can recommend marijuana.
Qualifying Medical Conditions
In-order-to qualify as a cannabis patient in the state of North Dakota a resident must suffer from one or more qualifying medical conditions. These conditions include cancer, glaucoma, hepatitis C, HIV or AIDS, amyotrophic lateral sclerosis (ALS), spinal cord injury with spasticity, fibromyalgia, spinal stenosis with intractable spasticity, Alzheimer’s disease, multiple sclerosis, Crohn’s disease, Huntington’s disease, cachexia or severe weight loss, severe nausea, seizures, severe or persistent muscle spasms, Post traumatic stress disorder (PTSD), and severe and debilitating pain. If you need more information about the North Dakota marijuana law or licensing process visit the North Dakota Department of Health website.