Basics of the New Jersey Law
New Jersey passed a law to legalize cannabis for medical use in 2010 through Senate Bill 119. The law allows qualifying patients to possess 2 ounces of marijuana. Cultivation is not allowed. NJ residents who wish to obtain cannabis legally must submit a “New Jersey Therapeutic Cannabis Registry Application” that includes a Written Certification from any physician or advanced practice registered nurse who is licensed in NJ verifying that he or she suffers from one or more qualifying medical conditions. Currently you cannot use medical marijuana ID cards from other states to obtain New Jersey cannabis.
Anyone applying for a marijuana medical card must pay a nonrefundable $200 application fee that is good for 2 years. The renewal fee is $200. Patients who qualify for government assistance pay a reduced $20 application and renewal fee. A parent or legal guardian must register to serve as the primary a caregiver for minors submitting applications for marijuana use in the Garden State. Minors also require 2 written certifications (1 must come from a pediatrician) verifying that he or she suffers from a qualifying medical condition and the risks and benefits of cannabis have been explained.
Caregivers pay a $50 application and annual renewal fee and can assist up to 5 registered cardholders.
Any patient who needs assistance with obtaining or administering cannabis for medical use can designate a caregiver who must also apply. A patient must indicate whether he or she will utilize a caregiver at the time of application for a medical cannabis identification card. A parent or legal guardian must serve as the primary caregiver for a patient who is a minor. Caregivers pay a $200 application and annual renewal fee and can assist only 1 registered cardholder. Caregivers who qualify for government assistance pay a reduced $20 application and renewal fee.
Physicians who are interested in making recommendations for marijuana treatment in NJ must possess a current and unrestricted state medical license and an active New Jersey controlled dangerous substances registration. They must also have a bonafide physician-patient relationship and perform an in-person medical evaluation. There is no special training that is required before a physician can recommend marijuana to his patients. Minors require evaluation by a second consulting physician that must be a Pediatrician or Psychiatrist.
Qualifying Medical Conditions
In-order-to qualify as a cannabis patient in the state of New Jersey a resident must suffer from one or more qualifying medical conditions. These conditions include terminal cancer, glaucoma, HIV or AIDS, amyotrophic lateral sclerosis (ALS), Crohn’s disease, inflammatory bowel disease, muscular dystrophy, cachexia or severe weight loss, severe or chronic pain, severe nausea, seizures, severe or persistent muscle spasms, Post traumatic stress disorder (PTSD), and severe or chronic pain. If you need more information about the law or licensing process visit the New Jersey Medical Marijuana Program website.