Basics of the New Hampshire Law
New Hampshire passed a law to legalize medical cannabis in 2013 through House Bill 573. The law allows qualifying patients to possess 2 ounces of marijuana. Cultivation is not allowed. NH residents who wish to obtain cannabis for medical purposes must submit a “New Hampshire Therapeutic Cannabis Registry Application” that includes a Written Certification from any physician or advanced practice registered nurse who is licensed in NH, Maine, Massachusetts, or Vermont verifying that he or she suffers from one or more qualifying medical conditions. Currently you can use medical marijuana ID cards from other states to obtain New Hampshire cannabis.
Anyone applying for a marijuana medical card must pay a nonrefundable $50 application fee. The annual renewal fee is $50. A parent or legal guardian must register to serve as the primary a caregiver for minors submitting applications for therapeutic marijuana use in the Granite State. Minors also require 2 written certifications (1 must come from a pediatrician) verifying that he or she suffers from a qualifying medical condition and the risks and benefits of therapeutic cannabis have been explained.
Caregivers pay a $50 application and annual renewal fee and can assist up to 5 registered cardholders.
Any patient who needs assistance with obtaining or administering cannabis can designate a caregiver who must also apply. A patient must indicate whether he or she will utilize a caregiver at the time of application for a cannabis medical identification card. A parent or legal guardian must serve as the primary caregiver for a patient who is a minor. Caregivers pay a $50 application and annual renewal fee and can assist up to 5 registered cardholders.
Physicians who are interested in making recommendations for marijuana treatment in NH must possess a current and unrestricted medical license from New Hampshire, Massachusetts, Maine, or Vermont, along with a current and unrestricted Drug Enforcement Agency number. They must also have a 3-month provider-patient relationship and perform an in-person medical evaluation. There is no special training that is required before a physician can recommend marijuana as medicine. Minors require certification by 2 physicians.
Qualifying Medical Conditions
In-order-to qualify as a cannabis patient in this state, a resident must suffer from one or more qualifying medical conditions. These conditions include cancer, glaucoma, HIV or AIDS, hepatitis C, amyotrophic lateral sclerosis (ALS), Crohn’s disease, muscular dystrophy, chronic pancreatitis, spinal cord injury or disease, traumatic brain injury, lupus, Parkinson’s disease, Alzheimer’s disease, cachexia or severe weight loss, severe or chronic pain, severe nausea, seizures, severe or persistent muscle spasms, multiple sclerosis, Post traumatic stress disorder (PTSD), Ehlers-Danlos syndrome, and moderate to severe chronic pain. If you need more information about the New Hampshire medical marijuana law or licensing process visit the New Hampshire Therapeutic Cannabis Program website.