• Basics of the Montana Law

Montana passed a law to legalize medical cannabis in 2004 through Initiative 148 that received 62% of the vote. The law allows qualifying patients to possess 1 ounce of therapeutic marijuana. Patients are allowed to cultivate 4 mature plants and 12 seedlings. MT residents who wish to obtain cannabis for terapeutic use must submit a “Montana Marijuana Program Application” that includes a Physician Statement that he or she suffers from one or more qualifying medical conditions. Currently you cannot use medical marijuana ID cards from other states to obtain Montana cannabis.

  • Patients

Anyone applying for a marijuana medical card must pay a nonrefundable $5 registration fee. The annual renewal fee is $5. Parents must register to serve as the provider or marijuana infused products provider (MIPP) for minors submitting applications for marijuana medical use in Montana and pay a $50 application fee. Minors also require signatures from two certifying physicians that he or she suffers from a qualifying medical condition and the risks and benefits of therapeutic cannabis have been explained.

Patients are allowed to cultivate 4 mature plants and 12 seedlings

  • Caregivers

Any patient who needs assistance with obtaining or administering therapeutic cannabis can designate a provider / MIPP who must also apply. A patient must indicate whether he or she will utilize a provider / MIPP at the time of application for a cannabis medical identification card. Minor patients must have a primary caregiver. Providers / MIPP’s must pay a $50 application and annual renewal fee and there is no limit on the number of registered cardholders that may be assisted.

  • Physicians

Physicians who are interested in making recommendations for marijuana treatment in MT must possess a current and unrestricted state medical license. They must also have a bonafide professional relationship and be primarily responsible for the patient’s routine care. There is no special training that is required before a physician can recommend marijuana. Minors require certification by 2 physicians.  

  • Qualifying Medical Conditions

In-order-to qualify as a cannabis patient in this state, a resident must suffer from one or more qualifying medical conditions. These conditions include cancer, glaucoma, HIV or AIDS, Crohn’s disease, agitation of Alzheimer’s disease, cachexia or severe weight loss, severe or chronic pain, severe nausea, seizures, muscle spasms, multiple sclerosis, terminal illness, chronic pain, and Post Traumatic Stress Disorder (PTSD). If you need more information about the state law or licensing process visit the Montana Medical Marijuana Program website.