Basics of the Minnesota Law
Minnesota passed a law to legalize medical cannabis in 2014 by passage of Senate Bill 2470. The law allows qualifying patients to possess a 30-day supply of non-smokable marijuana. Cultivation is not allowed. MN residents who wish to obtain therapeutic cannabis must submit a “Minnesota Medical Cannabis Program Application” that includes a certification from a licensed health care practitioner (physician, physician assistant, or advanced practice registered nurse) that he or she suffers from one or more qualifying medical conditions. Currently you cannot use marijuana medical ID cards from other states to obtain Minnesota cannabis.
Anyone applying for a marijuana medcal card must pay a nonrefundable $200 registration fee. The annual renewal fee is $200. Initial and annual renewal fees are $50 for patients who receive CHAMPVA or Social Security disability benefits, Supplemental Security Disability benefits, Supplemental Security Income, or are enrolled in Medicaid or MinnesotaCare.
Physicians who are interested in making recommendations for medical marijuana in Minnesota must possess a current and unrestricted state medical license and Drug Enforcement Agency number.
Any patient who needs assistance with obtaining or administering cannabis for medical use can designate a primary caregiver who must also apply. A patient must indicate whether he or she will utilize a primary caregiver at the time of evaluation by the certifying health care practitioner. Registered parents or legal guardians may act as a caregiver for a minor patient without having to register as a designated caregiver.
Physicians who are interested in making recommendations for marijuana treatment in MN must possess a current and unrestricted state medical license and Drug Enforcement Agency number. They must maintain an ongoing patient treatment relationship and perform a thorough physical exam. There is no special training that is required before a physician can recommend therapeutic marijuana.
Qualifying Medical Conditions
In-order-to qualify as a cannabis patient in this state, a resident must suffer from one or more qualifying medical conditions. These conditions include cancer (condition or treatment must produce cachexia or severe weight loss, severe or chronic pain, or nausea or severe vomiting), glaucoma, HIV or AIDS, Amyotrophic lateral sclerosis (ALS), Tourette’s syndrome, Crohn’s disease, seizures, severe and persistent muscle spasms, multiple sclerosis, severe pain, Post Traumatic Stress Disorder (PTSD), and terminal illness with life expectancy less than 1 year. If you need more information about the state marijuana law or licensing process visit the Minnesota Medical Cannabis website.