Basics of the Michigan Law
Michigan passed a law to legalize medical cannabis in 2008 through Proposition 1 that received 63% of the vote. The law allows qualifying patients to possess 2.5 ounces of marijuana. Patients are allowed to cultivate 12 plants. MI residents who wish to obtain therapeutic cannabis must submit a “Michigan Medical Marihuana Program Application” that includes a Physician Certification that he or she suffers from one or more qualifying medical conditions. Currently you can use marijuana ID cards from other states to obtain Michigan cannabis.
Anyone applying for a therapeutic marijuana card must pay a nonrefundable $60 registration fee. The annual renewal fee is $60. Parents must register to serve as primary caregiver for minors submitting applications for marijuana use in the state and pay the $25 caregiver fee. Minors also require written certification from two certifying physicians that he or she suffers from a qualifying medical condition and the risks and benefits of therapeutic cannabis have been explained.
The law allows qualifying patients to possess 2.5 ounces of medical marijuana. Patients are allowed to cultivate 12 plants.
Any patient who needs assistance with obtaining or administering cannabis for medical purpose can designate a primary caregiver who must also apply. A patient must indicate whether he or she will utilize a primary caregiver at the time of application for a cannabis medical identification card. Minor patients must have a primary caregiver. Primary caregivers pay an annual $25 registration fee and may assist up to 5 registered patients.
Physicians who are interested in making recommendations for marijuana treatment in MI must possess a current and unrestricted state medical license. They must also have a bonafide patient-physician relationship with ongoing responsibility for the assessment, treatment, and care of a qualifying patient’s debilitating medical condition, and perform an in-person medical evaluation. There is no special training that is required before a physician can recommend marijuana as medicine. Minors require certification by 2 physicians.
Qualifying Medical Conditions
In-order-to qualify as a cannabis patient in this state, a resident must suffer from one or more qualifying medical conditions. These conditions include cancer, glaucoma, HIV or AIDS, Amyotrophic lateral sclerosis (ALS), hepatitis C, Crohn’s disease, agitation of Alzheimer’s disease, nail patella syndrome, cachexia or severe weight loss, severe or chronic pain, severe nausea, seizures, muscle spasms, multiple sclerosis, and Post Traumatic Stress Disorder (PTSD). If you need more information about the marijuana law or licensing process visit the Michigan Medical Marihuana Program website.