Basics of the Maryland Law
Maryland passed a law to legalize medical cannabis in 2014 through passage of House Bill 881. The bill allows qualifying patients to possess 4 ounces of therapeutic cannabis. The amount has yet to be determined. Cultivation is not allowed. Maryland residents who wish to obtain this remedy must submit a “Maryland Medical Cannabis Commission Registry Application” that includes a written certification that must be completed by a doctor verifying that he or she suffers from one or more qualifying medical conditions. Qualifying patients who are not MD residents, but are in the state for the purpose of receiving medical treatment are eligible to register. They are required to provide the name and address of the MD facility where treatment will be received. Currently you are not allowed to use medical marijuana ID cards from other states to obtain Maryland cannabis.
There are no application or renewal fees to apply for a marijuana medical card in this state. Registered patients may purchase an optional ID card for $50. Parents must register to serve as primary caregiver for minors submitting applications for therapeutic marijuana use in the Old Line State. Minor qualifying patients are required to have at least one caregiver that is a parent or legal guardian. Minors’ caregivers are required to register with the Commission before registering the minor patient. Consultation with a 2nd consulting physician who provides an opinion concerning whether the minor patient is likely to benefit from therapeutic cannabis.
Cultivation of cannabis for medical use is not allowed.
Any patient who needs assistance with obtaining or administering cannabis for medical use can designate a primary caregiver who must also apply. A patient must indicate whether he or she will utilize a primary caregiver at the time of application for a marijuana program identification card, as well as, whether he or she will cultivate their own cannabis plants. Minor patients must have a primary caregiver. A caregiver may serve a maximum of 5 registered patients at one time. Primary caregivers must purchase a caregiver ID card for a fee of $50.
Physicians who are interested in making recommendations for medical marijuana in this state must possess a current and unrestricted state medical license and be registered to prescribe controlled substances. They must also have a bonafide patient-physician relationship with ongoing responsibility for the assessment, treatment, and care of a qualifying patient’s debilitating medical condition. There is no special training that is required before a physician can recommend marijuana as medicine.
Qualifying Medical Conditions
In-order-to qualify as a cannabis patient in the state of Maryland a resident must suffer from one of more qualifying conditions that include severe loss of appetite, severe or chronic pain, severe nausea, seizures, severe or persistent muscle spasms, cachexia or severe weight loss, glaucoma, or Post Traumatic Stress Disorder (PTSD). Other medical conditions are subject to approval by the Maryland Department of Health. If you need more information about the law or licensing process visit the Maryland Medical Cannabis Commission website.