Basics of the Connecticut Law
Connecticut passed a law to legalize medical cannabis in 2012 through House Bill 5389. The law allows qualifying patients to possess 2.5 ounces of marijuana for medical treatment. Patients are not allowed to grow their own cannabis. CT residents who wish to obtain it must have their physician initiate an application by certifying for the Connecticut Department of Consumer Protection that he or she suffers from a qualifying medical condition that qualifies you for a therapeutic marijuana registration certificate.
Anyone applying for a marijuana registration certificate in the state must pay a nonrefundable $100 application fee. The annual renewal fee is $100. Minors require written documentation from 2 physicians that he or she suffers from a qualifying medical condition and that the palliative use of cannabis is in the patient’s best interest before an application will be initiated. The legal guardian must complete the minor’s registration and the caregiver registration.
Patients are not allowed to grow their own therapeutic cannabis.
Physicians will indicate at the time of certification if a cannabis patient requires a primary caregiver to assist with obtaining or administering medication. The Department will not register a patient who requires a primary caregiver until the caregiver’s application is completed and approved. Caregivers must pay a nonrefundable $25 for initial or annual renewal registry identification card. You are not allowed to use marijuana medical ID cards from other states to obtain Connecticut cannabis.
Qualifying Medical Conditions
In-order-to qualify as a cannabis patient in this state, a resident must suffer from one or more qualifying medical conditions. These conditions and symptoms include cancer, glaucoma, HIV or AIDS, Parkinson’s disease, Multiple Sclerosis, spinal cord damage with intractable spasticity or persistent muscle spasms, seizures, cachexia or severe weight loss, Crohn’s disease, Post-traumatic Stress Disorder (PTSD), or any medical condition approved by the Connecticut Department of Consumer Protection. Qualifying conditions for minors include cerebral palsy, cystic fibrosis, spinal cord damage with intractable spasticity or persistent muscle spasms, severe seizures, terminal illness requiring end-of-life care, and other conditions that are subject to approval by the Connecticut DCP. If you need more information about the law or licensing process visit the Connecticut Medical Marijuana Program Site.