Basics of the Colorado Law
Colorado passed a law to legalize medical cannabis in 2000 through ballot amendment that received 54% of the state’s vote. The law allows qualifying patients to possess 2 ounces of marijuana and grow 6 plants, 3 of which can be mature. CO residents who wish to obtain cannabis for medical use must submit a “Colorado Medical Marijuana Registry Application” that includes a physician certification that he or she suffers from one or more qualifying medical conditions and that the patient might benefit from the use of therapeutic marijuana.
Anyone applying for a marijuana medical card must pay a nonrefundable $15 application fee. The annual renewal fee is $15. Parents must consent in writing to serve as primary caregiver for minors submitting applications for marijuana medical use in the state. Minors require written documentation from 2 physicians that he or she suffers from a qualifying medical condition and one physician must document that the possible risks and benefits of therapeutic marijuana have been explained to the applicant and parents.
Minors require written documentation from 2 physicians that he or she suffers from a qualifying medical condition…
A patient must indicate whether he or she will utilize a primary caregiver or a medical marijuana center at the time of application for a marijuana medical card. Minor patients must have a primary caregiver. Caregivers must pay a nonrefundable $15 for initial and annual renewal registry identification card. You are not allowed to use medical marijuana ID cards from other states to obtain Colorado cannabis.
Qualifying Medical Conditions
In-order-to qualify as a cannabis patient in this state, a resident must suffer from one or more qualifying medical conditions. These conditions and symptoms include cancer, glaucoma, HIV or AIDS, cachexia or severe weight loss, severe pain, severe nausea, seizures, persistent muscle spasms, and other conditions that are subject to approval by the Colorado Board of Health. If you need more information about the law or licensing process visit the Colorado Medical Marijuana Registry Site.