Basics of the California Law
California passed a law to legalize medical cannabis in 1996 through Proposition 215 that received 56% of the state’s vote. The law allows qualifying patients to possess 8 ounces of marijuana and to grow 6 mature or 12 immature plants. In 2015 the governor of California signed The Medical Cannabis Regulation and Safety Act that established the first regulatory framework for the therapeutic cannabis industry. A qualified patient in CA who cultivates, possesses, processes, or transports cannabis exclusively for personal medical use is not required to get a license. There is currently a voluntary system for Medical Marijuana Identification Cards. CA residents must possess a written or oral recommendation from their physician stating that they suffer from one of the qualifying conditions and would benefit from marijuana.
Patients who wish to apply for a marijuana medical identification card are charged a nonrefundable fee of $66. Patients who are part of the California Medicaid program known as Medi-Cal are charged a reduced fee of $33. Additional county fees may be charged that vary by location. Qualifying patients under 18 should have parental consent to use cannabis.
In-order-to qualify as a therapeutic cannabis patient in the state of California a resident must suffer from one or more qualifying medical conditions
Any patient who needs assistance with obtaining, cultivating, or administering cannabis for medical use can designate a primary caregiver. Primary caregivers who provide care to five or fewer patients are not required to be licensed if they are compliant with the MMRSA. Caregivers who wish to apply for a Therapeutic Marijuana Identification Card are charged a nonrefundable fee of $66. Caregivers who are part of Medi-Cal are charged a reduced fee of $33. Additional county fees may be charged that vary by location. You are not allowed to use medical marijuana ID cards from other states to obtain California cannabis.
Qualifying Medical Conditions
In-order-to qualify as a cannabis patient in this state, a resident must suffer from one or more qualifying medical conditions. These conditions and symptoms include AIDS, anorexia, arthritis, cachexia or severe weight loss, cancer, chronic pain, glaucoma, migraine, persistent muscle spasms associated with Multiple Sclerosis, seizures, severe nausea, and other chronic or persistent medical symptoms. If you need more information about the law or licensing process visit the California Bureau of Medical Cannabis Regulation Site.