Basics of the Arkansas Law
Arkansas passed a law to legalize medical cannabis in 2016 through a ballot measure that received 53.2% of the state’s vote. The law allows qualifying patients to purchase 3 ounces of marijuana per 14-day period. Residents are not allowed to grow their own cannabis. AR residents who wish to obtain cannabis for medical use must wait until the law is written as the Arkansas Department of Health is currently working to implement the program and will communicate to the public when the application process is available. Medical Marijuana Registry cards will be issued approximately 1 month before marijuana is available for purchase. Applicants must submit an Arkansas Department of Health Medical Marijuana Physician Written Certification documenting that the patient suffers from a qualifying medical condition.
Anyone applying for a therapeutic marijuana card must pay a nonrefundable $50 application fee. The annual renewal fee is $50. Minors submitting applications for therapeutic cannabis must provide an original statement in writing from their parent or legal guardian stating consent to serve as the minor’s primary caregiver and gives permission for the minor to engage in the medical use of cannabis. The state will not issue a marijuana card for qualifying patients under 18 unless the qualifying patient’s physician has documented that the potential risks and benefits of marijuana have been explained to the patient and legal guardian, the legal guardian consents in writing to allow the qualifying minor to use marijuana therapy, and the legal guardian registers as a designated caregiver for the qualifying minor.
You are allowed to use medical marijuana ID cards from other states to obtain Arkansas cannabis.
Any qualifying patient whose physician documents that he or she is disabled or under the age of 18 is allowed to designate a primary caregiver who must also apply. Caregivers must pay a nonrefundable fee of $50 for initial and renewal registry identification card. You are allowed to use marijuana medical ID cards from other states to obtain Arkansas cannabis.
Qualifying Medical Conditions
In-order-to qualify as a cannabis patient in this state, a resident must suffer from one or more qualifying medical conditions. These conditions and symptoms include cancer, glaucoma, HIV or AIDS, Hepatitis C, Amyotrophic Lateral Sclerosis, Crohn’s Disease, Ulcerative Colitis, Post traumatic stress disorder (PTSD), severe arthritis, fibromyalgia, Alzheimer’s Disease, cachexia or severe weight loss, peripheral neuropathy, intractable pain, severe nausea, seizures, severe and persistent muscle spasms, and other conditions that are subject to approval by the Arkansas Department of Health. If you need more information about the law or licensing process visit the Arkansas Department of Health website.