Basics of the Arizona Law
Arizona passed a law to legalize medical cannabis in 2010 through Proposition 203 that received 50.13% of the state’s vote. The law allows qualifying patients to possess 2.5 ounces of marijuana and to grow up to 12 plants. AZ residents who wish to obtain cannabis for medical use must submit an “Arizona Department of Health Services Patient Application”, a Medical Marijuana Physician Certification form, and a Medical Marijuana Patient Attestation form. The Arizona Department of Health Services certification form must be signed and initialed by the physician providing the written certification attesting that the patient suffers from a qualifying medical condition.
Anyone applying for a marijuana medical card must pay a $150 application fee. The annual renewal fee is $150. Minors submitting applications for therapeutic cannabis must provide an original statement in writing from their parent or legal guardian stating consent to serve as the minor’s primary caregiver and gives permission for the minor to engage in the medical use of cannabis.
Any patient who needs assistance with obtaining, cultivating, or administering therapeutic cannabis can designate a primary caregiver who must also apply.
Any patient who needs assistance with obtaining, cultivating, or administering cannabis for medical therapy can designate a primary caregiver who must also apply. A patient’s application must be completed and approved before a caregiver can be designated. Caregivers must pay $200 for initial or renewal registry identification card and annual renewal. You are allowed to use therapeutic marijuana ID cards from other states to obtain Arizona cannabis.
Qualifying Medical Conditions
In-order-to qualify as a cannabis patient in this state, a resident must suffer from one or more qualifying medical conditions. These conditions and symptoms include cancer, glaucoma, HIV or AIDS, Hepatitis C, Amyotrophic Lateral Sclerosis, Crohn’s Disease, Agitation of Alzheimer’s Disease, Post traumatic stress disorder (PTSD), cachexia or severe weight loss, severe and chronic pain, severe nausea, seizures, and severe or persistent muscle spasms. If you need more information about the law or licensing process visit the Arizona Department of Health Services site.